hope

I find myself humming the words to “It Is Well With My Soul” a lot this past week, which has been pretty intense. It talks about how much hurt can happen inside and yet there is still peace because there is something greater to come. I have realized I need more memorized scripture about hope in pain and darkness, because I need more promises to declare over this city and the ministry we are doing, that all hope is not lost. I cried myself to sleep last night and only prayed to not feel so broken for this lost world. I am most broken for the church that knows truth, but does not want to reach out and embrace it. But there is new hope this morning as the four of us meet together again at 6am for an hour of prayer. We know that we were worth it to Jesus, and He is worth it to us to come here and bind up his hurting people.

The team apologizes for not many recent blog posts, but so much has happened while in Calcutta that has kept us busy. Sara and I took a week off from teaching at the primary school in the slums during the day, and the English classes we all take turns teaching to adults at night to work in Mother Teresa’s disabled children’s home, Daya Dan. Let me be the first to let you know about one of our inside jokes from this experience, because mission trips to third world countries mean having some of the most ridiculous and painfully awkward situations a person could ever find themselves in, and they make for so many great inside jokes. Sara and I took another bus that comfortably fits around 40 people, but that had at least 60 people to the place where the nuns we are living with told us Daya Dan was. As we ripped our sweaty bodies away from the mosh pit of Indian men when we got off the bus at our stop, we asked where Daya Dan was and got many people to help us find our way for an hour through this maze of Calcutta streets. Soon we were exhausted and asked one last person if they knew where to go to DAYA DAN and they exclaimed that we were already there… CHINA TOWN! I guess Sara and I need to work on our Indian accents. As we looked around, we realized why the entire street was full of staring Chinese people. We gave up ministry for that day and just laughed. So there is a little nugget of daily life in India.

We have all been grown so much in our time here. I have had a lot of selfish pride town down that I didn’t realize I had, and learned more about serving in humility than ever before. I guess I can’t pinpoint the exact moment that I started fearing NOT having the Holy Spirit in me because of the convictions, protection, and counsel. Before there was some fear of how much power and responsibility came with being led by the spirit in this dark place, but God is truly the only thing keeping us safe here. Thank you all for your continued prayer partnership with us… CO-mission.

I can honestly say that this culture feels more like home than my own culture sometimes. There are certain things however that I don’t think I will ever grow used to; like being a head taller than the majority of the men, or seeing at least 50 men a day publicly urinating in suits and ties along the side of most roads. We see a lot of people shooting up heroin on street corners, many prostitutes with their children at the crowded train stations playing in the tracks where they often get hit, and taxis full of idols. I find myself praying a lot when we take taxis, that the fat man in the shrine on the dashboard will just have his stupid little head pop right off.

When Sara and I finally made it to Daya Dan, we sat and rocked disabled children back and forth, praying over them and messaging their mangled bodies. There were about 80 there, just lying on the floor in various parts of the building, waiting for someone to pick them up and love them. I am getting used to the nuns yelling at me, because the work that they do here day in and day out is incredible. It is really cool to work in these homes because we meet people from all over the world who volunteer, and a large number are not Christian. We used to joke in Kenya about an African baptism being when the babies would pee on us… I have received several “Indian baptisms” … Diarrhea… So now I have been baptized on three continents… so far.

Yesterday, Ryan and I took a bus to the home for the dying “Kalighat” where he worked on the men’s side, and I worked on the women’s side. He and Ben had been before, but my first time there was a crazy afternoon of learning how to put in catheters…yep… Afterward, we took the metro subway to meet an American friend who lives here to have a worship and prayer night for the city. After a week of getting pretty tired, my hope was renewed at knowing that our work is not in vain. That someday one King will be over all. I cannot believe the relationships that have been made here, especially with the sisters and brothers we live with and the pastors and translators we work with. We only have 5 more days here, then New Dehli here we come!

-Christiana HOPE Croll

~ by Christiana on July 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “hope”

  1. i love you christy. praying for you as always….

  2. So I woke up this morning singing “It Is Well With My Soul”. I couldn’t get it out of my head. I logged on later to check your blog and was surprised to see it has been in your head all week. The Lord is speaking.
    praying for you. Love you all SO much. SO much.
    Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
    Let this blessed assurance control,
    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.
    My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
    My sin, not in part but the whole,
    Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
    Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.
    And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
    The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
    The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
    Even so, it is well with my soul.

  3. The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ ~ Matt 25:40

    great love, joy, peace, hope & prayers for all of you & india

Leave a Reply

 
